Ten Years Full of Promise
15 January 2020

The Tour de l’Avenir, of which this summer’s edition will be the 57th (from August 7th to 16th), has remained true to its vocation since the event was created in 1961. The race, organised by Alpes Vélo, remains a life-size test for international riders under twenty-three years of age. As such, it has proved to be a world cycling academy, and a springboard for tomorrow’s champions, especially Tour de France stars.

The last ten years have been particularly rich in revelations, and not only because Colombian Egan Bernal, winner of the 2017 Tour de l’Avenir, won the most recent Tour de France just two years later.

Let’s take look back at a decade that has seen so many Tour de l’Avenir riders to turn into today’s champions.

2010 – A Talented Roster

2010 was one of the richest editions in terms of high-level revelations. Thirty years after Alfonso Florez’s historic victory, twenty-five years after Martin Ramirez’, here comes Nairo Quintana sounding the Colombian revival by winning the two alpine stages at Risoul and the final classification. Very quickly, he climbed the podium of the Tour de France (2nd in 2013 and 2015, 3rd in 2016), and won the Tour of Italy in 2014 and the Spanish Vuelta in 2016.

Other important future protagonists of the Grand Tours emerge: the Spaniard Landa, 5th and the Frenchman Bardet, 6th.

In 2010, the American prodigy Taylor Phinney set the best time in the Vierzon prologue and in the sprinters’ category, German John Degenkolb, future winner of Milan-San Remo and Paris-Roubaix (2015), took the green jersey ahead of Australian Michael Matthews, a world-class figure. The Polish Michal Kwiatkowski, who became world champion four years later, also ha